LG DM2350D

Posted on 25 February 2013

0


I bought the LG DM2350D on Pixmania.com.

First a few good words about pixmania pro: I’ve read a few really bad reviews about this shop, so hoped to receive everything in good order. I used pixmania pro and the service was excellent! After using it for a few months I discovered that it didn’t support HDMI 1.4 frame packing and they refunded the money without a problem.

Apart from the HDMI 1.4 frame-packing problem, the LG works great. I can use a Manfrotto superclamp to put it on a C-stand, and there also are holes to attach a 75 mm VESA mount. I’ll need to find a smart solution to be able to put it on a table as well as on my steadicam C-stand and find a good bag to travel light with this setup. The other really nice surprise is that I can use the USB port to power my 5V2A SAC WHDI receiver, so I don’t need additional power supply for a wireless viewing set.

Superclamp DM2350 mount

The only downside is that this screen does not work on my 17-11V V-mount batteries as it needs 19V/3,4A power. I bought a V-mount plate and this 19V/5A step-up converter, which came with a EIAJ-05 connector to power the LG monitor. I figured that it will have to allow for 19V*3,4A/11V/90%= 6,5A maximum draw from the battery. This is just at the limit of the battery, but i’ve tested it a day in the sun and nothing gets too hot.

There is only one thing that is not great on location, when looping it through the 2D wondland monitor: it will display a side-by-side picture and you will have to set the 3D every time you power on the monitor or the camera. This is pretty easy with the remote control but can get annoying when you need to navigate through the menu with the buttons on the screen itself. It’s a pity that there is no dedicated 3D button on the monitor itself! The workaround is to use the HDMI splitter on the Cinematics Batterypinch.

When you connect the Z10000 to the monitor, it recognises the side-by-side 3D feed from my Panasonic Z10000 (3d output set to: LCD) and tells you to put on 3D glasses (you’ll only have to press OK). That’s working great, but of course it’s only half the resolution (side by side displayed on a line-alternating 3D display = 2x 960×540 px!

So I set the Z10000 to output 2x full HD by selecting 3d output: HDMI. Now the LG monitor displays a top-bottom picture with a big black bar in between the two pictures. When I hit the 3D button, it says that it is displaying 3D. Would this be a bug in the firmware, does this monitor not support HDMI 1.4 frame packing or is the Z10000 outputting a non-standard frame-packed HDMI signal? The last thing is possible as the Z10000 might output a frame-packed 1080i50 signal, which is not part of the HDMI 1.4a specs. So I checked the specs of the screen and could not find anything about HDMI 1.4 so I sent it back.

Of course there are the ugly bottom and the blue light. And there was the 3D glasses issue. But all in all it’s a great monitor with it’s anti-glare screen.

Real-D vs Zalman style glasses

The LG DM2350D came with the LG 3D glasses. These are real-D system glasses, made for the LG Cinema3D televisions. I found that they gave a lot of purple ghosting on the DM2350D, as well as my real-D (cinema) glasses did.

I remembered I read a review about the LG computers screen that says the LG passive monitor glasses are not the same system as the LG passive TV glasses. As LG itself also shipped the wrong glasses with their computer monitors a lot of people are reporting purple ghosting.

This explains the problem (quotes from the above review): Real D glasses will produce purple ghosting in higher depth images that the included glasses won’t. I think this is because the polarization in the real D glasses are slightly different from the ones included. This is because there are two polarizers involved for each lens, a circular polarizer and a linear polarizer. The RealD (and LG Cinema 3D TVs) use linear polarizers with a horizontal orientation, while the LG (and Zalman) Cinema 3D monitors use a diagonal (45 degree) orientation.

Picture of LG Cinema 3D glasses (real-D orientation) vs LG 3D monitor glasses (zalman orientation)

I’ve contacted LG and they sent me new glasses within a week. These glasses have the same number (FPG-200F) on the box, but it says ‘3D monitor glasses’ on the box, on the side of the glasses and there is even a ‘monitor’ inscription on the clip of the clip-on glasses. I’ve tried them and the purple ghosting dissapeared. Apparently, LG uses the Zalman system polarization on their small cinema3D TV’s as well. Very confusing! But now it works.

Posted in: Gear, S3d