3Dtv.at MVC to Avi converter

Posted on 4 July 2012

0


First impressions about using this software. I bought it, converted 150 files (uncompressed) and below are my findings.

Output format

Using file->settings you can select an output format. The default format is 2x uncompressed RGB .avi files, but this is taking a lot of space and it needs a throughput of 1200 mbps, this total of 300 MB/s is a lot more then my HDD’s can deliver. So I am looking for an option at about 130 mbps:

  • lossless RGBA compression (Video for Windows): 2x 1000 mbps LWLR
  • Intel IYUV-codec (Video for Windows): 2x 600 mbps  – uncompressed 4:2:0
  • ffdshow Video Codec (Video for Windows) set to HuffYUV YUY2: 2x 350 mbps (4:2:2). The strange thing is that mediainfo says it’s RGB at about 350 mbps.
  • ffdshow Video Codec (Video for Windows) set to HuffYUV YV12. 2x 280 mbps (4:2:0 p). This is a really fast (realtime)  lossless codec!
  • ffdshow Video Codec (Video for Windows) set to MJPEG: 2x 32 mbps (at any quality level).
  • MJPEG (DirectShow) at 100% : 260 mbps (4:2:2 interlaced!).

MJPEG (directshow) at 97.8% is perfect: 130 mbps 4:2:2. This is 35 MB/s for a S3D stream which is perfect for most HDD’s.

Frameserver

Or I could use a frameserver to feed the two streams from MVC2AVI to FFmbc or FFmpeg.  This workflow in combination with MVCtoAVI should work: it uses the open source DebugMode Frameserver to serve the frames to a signpost .avi file. Then they use avisynth with a .avs script that contains “DirectShowSource(“signpost.avi”)”. Then they use ffmpeg to convert the .avs file to the end codec on the fly. I don’t really understand why ffmpeg needs avisynth, apperently it can’t read the .avi file from DebugMode. Unfortunately DebugMode is only written for Sony Vegas and Adobe Premiere (and Ulead, PureMotion and WAX). But I am pretty sure that there also is another option…

What I would need is for mvc2avi to act as a frameserver to serve frames, maybe DebugMode (Video for Windows) can be used. I’ve been reading about it but it seems like it won’t work as the frameserver is not started.

DirectShow / Video for Windows

There is something else I would like to try. I found that there a few ffdshow Video Codec output options appeared after I installed ffdshow for audio decoding. This suggest that I could add more custom codecs to the output menu of MVC2AVI. Maybe with Libav or ffmpeg? I just don’t understand (yet) how to work with these tarballs, gits, compiles, builds etc etc. Where is the installer package?

Other problems

There also were quite a few problems with mvc2avi. First there is the error counter, which means that all files converted after an error has occurred are considered to have failed, although they have actually succeeded.

Spanned files

Only one of my test files was bigger then 4 GB and produced this error log:

Start conversion.
Converting file 'E:\BDMV\STREAM0053.MTS'.
Format: YUY2, 1920 x 1080, 25,000 fps
Conversion error (0x80040228).
The sample start time is after the sample end time.
Conversion done: 0 successful, 1 failed.

So I guess this might be a problem of the program with spanned files. I had to use other software to convert this file. I’ve send Peter Wimmer of 3Dtv an email about this but he never replied to this issue.

Video errors

Another problem is that I had quite a bit files with video errors, big blocks, like with old dirty DV tapes:

This is an example converted from uncompressed avi to prores with squeeze. I’ve also tested compressor and got the same type of errors:

Sync

The third problem is synchronisation between the two eyes. File 79 (log2.txt) as it was not sync after conversion. The file starts synchronised, but at the end it is off by 2 frames. This could be a problem with either the mvc2avi software or the conversion to apple prores mov files.

Converting file 'E:\BDMV\STREAM0079.MTS'. 
Format: RGB, 1920 x 1080, 25,000 fps 
Conversion error (0x80040228). 
The sample start time is after the sample end time.

Color

I’ve found the left eye and right eye to be of slightly different colors:

I have to check if this is the software or the camera.

Posted in: S3d