Saving on power consumption

Posted on 14 September 2011

0


Wouldn’t it be very green (and cheap) to bring back the power consumption at the office as far as possible?

These are a few consumers:

  • VOIP (linksys) +WLAN (dlink): 12w
  • HP officejet/fax: 2w
  • Kyocera Mita laserprinter: 33/?/974/?w
  • MacPro: 3/280/300/410w
  • XDcam player: 3w
  • ProHD player: 1w
  • 2x speaker (Yamaha) + 2x scherm (BenQ): 20/?/60/?w

Numbers: standby/average/powering on/max in watt

Peak

We used one plug for to turn on/off all machines at the office. But this could lead to a short overload when inserting this plug. (soms vliegt de stop eruit, en soms zelfs de aardlek). Now I am using a switch and everything seems to be fine.

Fax

I’ve made a habit of only powering stuff on when I need it. The only exception is the setup for receiving fax messages (wlan, linksys, officejet) which is using 14W when in standby. This is 14*24 hr*365 days = 122 kW. That’s a lot! Can I turn it off? I haven’t received a fax last year, so I guess that would not be a problem. I’ve had a look around and most of my customers and colleagues do not even mention a fax number on their website anymore. Bye bye fax!

Posted in: Office